In-Person LTC Class: Alvin

Cro Arms Texas Indoor Shooting Range 1206 FM 1462 Alvin, TX 77511 (next door to Big Axe & Harbor Freight) (map)

To receive a Texas License To Carry, the State requires each applicant to complete a 4-6 hour class, pass a written test, and pass the range qualification.  The training can be taken in person or online.

Click here to enroll.

The classroom training will cover all state required topics, Basic Firearms Safety, Safe Handling and Storage, Non-Violent Dispute Resolution, Use of Force Laws, Civil Liability (presentation by Texas Law Shield), Texas Handgun Laws, Firearm Selection, College Campus Carry, and Open Carry.

The range portion consists of fifty shots fired from distances of 3, 7, and 15 yards. It is preferred that students be somewhat familiar with their pistol and know how to operate it safely.

LICENSE TO CARRY CLASSES ARE NOT A LEARN TO SHOOT CLASS.  The State requires that all participants know how to safely operate a handgun prior to attending this class. If you would like an introductory course, please email us and we will be happy to set one up.

Each Student will need the following items in order to complete the live fire portion of training:

  • Footwear that covers the entire foot (mandatory)
  • A shirt with a conservative neckline (to protect against hot brass)
  • Handgun: No minimum caliber required – .22s are ok.
    • It no longer matters if you qualify with a semi or revolver. You will be licensed to carry both.
    • Handguns should be in clean and safe working order
    • At least one empty magazine required for semi-autos
    • Ammunition: Minimum 50 rounds of brass-cased, factory ammo. No reloads.

No Gun?  No Problem!
Loaner guns are available for $25 (includes 50+ rounds of ammo).

There are Four fees involved with obtaining a Texas Handgun License

CLASS FEE (paid to instructor): $85  Click here to enroll online.

$10 discount for military, veterans, those age 60+, first responders, school teachers, and NRA Members

This fee covers the training class, forms, the cost of the range, targets, safety glasses, and hearing protection (license photos are no longer required).

Range Fee: The student will pay this fee directly to the range and it varies based on location… typically $10 to $20.

State Licensing Fee (paid to the State): $40 for most folks and $25 for military veterans. Current military (or those released from duty in the last year) are free. This fee is paid directly to the State and must be submitted within one year of completing the class. Students do not have to apply with the State prior to attending the class but they can if they so choose. Click here to apply for your License To Carry.

Fingerprinting Fee (paid to IdentoGO):
Upon completion of your application and payment of the application fee, the State will email you a link to set up your fingerprinting appointment.  The state has contracted with IdentoGO to collect all electronic fingerprints. The cost is $10 and there are multiple locations in our area. Click here for electronic fingerprinting info.

Minimum number of students required for class: Six (6)

Build Your Own Class
If you, your friends, or coworkers would like to put together a private class, please let me know.  I’ll accommodate your group and customize the training and location to fit your needs. You can even host the classroom portion in your home or office. Minimum class size is 8 people.  I can help you fill the class and will even discount your training for recruiting 8 people.

Private Lessons Available
If you just don’t feel comfortable shooting in a crowd or would like some pre-class training, just let me know.  I’ll be happy to meet with you to build your confidence and shooting skills so you look like a pro on Qualification Day!

Any other questions?

Just send me an email.


Jul 20 2024


10:00 am - 4:00 pm


Cro Arms Texas
1206 FM 1462 Alvin, TX 77511

Indoor gun range and store


Rod Townsend