Sunday, April 3rd from 8:00 AM – 3:00 PM.
2011 Leeland St. Houston, TX 77003 (map)
Click here to enroll online.
The classroom training will cover all state required topics, Basic Firearms Safety, Safe Handling and Storage, Non-Violent Dispute Resolution, Use of Force Laws, Civil Liability (presentation by Texas Law Shield), Texas Concealed Handgun Laws, Shooting Grip / Stance, Firearm Selection, Concealed Carry Methods, Campus Carry, and Open Carry.
The range portion will be conducted the same day at a nearby range. It will consist of fifty shots fired from distances of 3, 7, and 15 yards. It is preferred that students be somewhat familiar with their pistol and know how to operate it safely. Accommodations can be made for students needing additional instruction, assistance, or encouragement. Every effort will be made to provide a safe, comfortable, and enjoyable shooting experience for all. The minimum score to qualify is 175. . . the max is 250. I’ve never had a shooter fail to qualify. In fact, “inexperienced” students end up shooting some of the highest scores.
Each Student will need the following items on the range:
- Footwear that covers the entire foot.
- Low cut shirts are discouraged due to flying brass.
- Handgun: Revolver or Semi-Auto (minimum .32 cal) – It no longer matters what type of handgun is used to qualify. You will be licensed to carry semi-auto or revolver.
- Handguns should be in safe working order and be transported unloaded in some type of case or bag.
- One magazine required for semi-autos
- Ammunition: Minimum 50 rounds required for testing (additional may be required for re-test)
No Gun? No Problem! Rental handguns are available for $30 (includes 50+ rounds of ammo).
There are three fees involved with obtaining a Texas Handgun License
CLASS FEE (paid to instructor):
Advance enrollment required or $95 at the door.
This fee covers the training class, forms, the cost of the range, targets, safety glasses, and hearing protection (license photos are no longer required).
Discounts are available for military, veterans, those age 60+, first responders, school teachers, and NRA Members. $10 off New Licenses.
State Licensing Fee (paid to the State): $140 for most, $70 for those age 60+ and $25 for military veterans. Current military (or those released from duty in the last year) are free. This fee is paid directly to the State and must be submitted within six months of completing the class. Students do not have to apply with the State prior to attending the class but they can if they so choose. Click here to apply for your CHL license through the State.
Fingerprinting Fee (paid to L-1): The state has contracted with L-1 Identity Solutions to collect all electronic fingerprints. The cost is $10 and there are multiple locations in our area. Click here for electronic fingerprinting info.