Rocksprings License To Carry Class
Schedule: Saturday, July 30th
9:00 AM – 3:00PM
Gilmer Memorial Library – 308 US-377 Rocksprings, TX 78880 (map)
Range Location – TBD – Nearby outdoor location
Guns and ammunition will not be allowed in the Library… must remain locked in the vehicle.
The class will cover all state required topics, Basic Firearms Safety, Safe Handling and Storage, Non-Violent Dispute Resolution, Use of Force Laws, Civil Liability, Texas Carry Laws, Open Carry, and Campus Carry laws.
The shooting portion will consist of fifty shots fired from distances of 3, 7, and 15 yards. This is not a Learn To Shoot Class. The State of Texas requires that all students be familiar with their pistol and know how to operate it safely. Accommodations can be made for students needing a little assistance or encouragement. Every effort will be made to provide a safe, comfortable, and enjoyable shooting experience for all. Being this is a private class, we can squeeze in some basic pistol training for those that are uncomfortable.
Each Student will need the following items to complete the live fire portion of training:
- Footwear that covers the entire foot (mandatory)
- A shirt with a conservative neckline (to protect against hot brass)
- Handgun: No minimum caliber required for LTC… a .22 will do.
- It no longer matters if you qualify with a revolver or semi-auto
- Handguns should be in clean and safe working order
- Firearms must be transported in a case, holster, or bag
- At least ONE empty magazine required for semi-autos… two would be better
- The State does NOT allow the use of handgun-mounted lasers or optics for LTC qualifications.
- Ammunition: Minimum 50 rounds.
Semi-auto pistols are available for rent… $25, the ammo is included.
I will provide the targets and eye & hearing protection. Feel free to bring your own.
There are three fees involved with obtaining a Texas License To Carry:
CLASS FEE (paid to the instructor): $85
We offer a $10 discount to Veterans, First Responders, Teachers, NRA members, and those age 60+. This fee covers the training class, the cost of the range, targets, and safety equipment. Due to limited spaces, full payment is required in advance of the class to hold your seat. This payment is refundable with 24-hour advance notice of cancellation. Enroll online at
State Licensing Fee (paid to the State – within one year of class):
$40 for four-year license
$25 for Military veterans (those that have been out for more than 12 months)
Current military (or those released from duty in the last year) are FREE.
This fee is paid directly to the State and must be submitted within one year of completing the class. Students do not have to apply with the State prior to attending the class but they can if they so choose. Click the following link if you would like to apply for your LTC through the State. https://goheeled.com/apply/ [goheeled.com]
Fingerprinting Fee (paid to IdentoGo): (does not have to be done before class)
The state has contracted with IdentoGO to collect all electronic fingerprints. The cost is $10. All License Applicants must have new fingerprints taken. Upon completion of the state application, you will receive an email with a link and details to set up your fingerprint appointment. In areas where there is no electronic fingerprint options, the State allows local law enforcement agencies to conduct the fingerprinting.